Do I really need a heater?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Iris135

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have been keeping my community 29 gal tank for a few months now without a heater. The temp stays between 70-72F depending on how long the light is on, and does not fluctuate much at all. I live in Noortheastern Ohio, so this is as cold as it is going to get. I have been reading conflicting forums about needing a heater or not. Some say absolutely and others say not really if the temp remains above 70F. I was thinking that it may not be needed because tropical waters can certainly reach temperatures of 70F and below.

Tankmates are:
Gouarmi
Red tail shark
Dannios
Tiger Barbs
African cichlids (I know, I know)

I have noticed that the dannios are the most active, which makes sense since they can do fine in cooler temperatures.

I am slightly worried that raising the tank temperatures will cause the cichlids to act up, it has been smooth sailing so far. I wanted to set up another tank to move them to, but I will return them if I notice problems before that happens.

Ok since you said "I know I know" I won't say anything. You obviously know already.

I'd get a heater anyway. Even if its a small one to maintain the temp you have now.

Or even incase it just drop one night. The heater will only kick on when needed.

Just my opinion.

Ok since you said "I know I know" I won't say anything. You obviously know already.

I'd get a heater anyway. Even if its a small one to maintain the temp you have now.

Or even incase it just drop one night. The heater will only kick on when needed.

Just my opinion.

Ok thanks, I was shopping for filter cartridges on Amazon and was wondering if I should just throw a heater in the cart too.