Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-27-2007, 08:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to lyquidphyre
Dog peed on bag of gravel

I have a huge bag of natural gravel (it's a 50lb bag and I've probably used about 10-15 lbs of it already) and my dog peed all over the bag. Is there any way I can use this gravel again? I figure it is essentially ammonia and I could rinse it thoroughly but I don't want to risk it if it could severly mess up a tank.

Any thoughts?

lyquidphyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 08:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via AIM to papa_bear_21
I would think a bleach bath followed by a soap bath, then many rinsings would be good...but I'm no expert...I'm sure someone more experienced will chime in...

Old 06-27-2007, 08:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

I'd be afraid to use bleach! I know if I rinse it a zillion times it would be okay, but something about bleach and aquariums gives me the willies!

Old 06-27-2007, 08:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via AIM to papa_bear_21
I truly dont blame you, if you have a good disinfecting soap (like dawn), and rinse with copious amounts of water afterwards. Thats how we cleaned our gravel before we put it in the tank, I would think the soap would kill anything harmful that may be there. As long as the gravel is rinsed good, there should be no ill effects. Our fish are doing great
Old 06-27-2007, 08:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Personally I'd choose the bleach over gravel with much rinsing and some dechlorinator,

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 08:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular