Doing all the right things.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JamesMJ2

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am going to set up a 46 gallon Bow Front. I want to avoid making the mistakes I made when I set up my 20gal tank. I have learned a great deal thanks to this forum and my own research, but there is always something I don't know. So again I am turning to you guys. I have it down to three sections. Equipment, Fish, and Plants.

Equipment: Obviously we have the 46 Gallon Bow front(36x20x15) . Now to filter this bad boy I have my Emperor 280, which by the numbers can handle the volume of the tank. It is going to be planted though and I plan on having quite a few fish, so should I make the jump to a canister filter, and run that in conjunction with the Emp 280. Suggestions on Canister filters would be appreciated as well, since I have no experience with them. Lights.. I have a pretty good PC lamp. Problem is it's only 24 inches long and the new tank is 36 long. Maybe this isn't a problem? Also following the two watts per gallon rule I would need a more powerful lamp 96watts instead of 65watts, maybe this isn't a problem either? On to heaters I already have a Visi-Therm 100 watt, obviously I need another heater, my question is, per 5 watts per gallon for heaters I would have to have a total in 230watts of heater power. Would 200 watts be acceptable, I could just add a second 100watt heater. Should I consider getting power head, I am raising plants and maybe the extra water movement would be bad for the plants?

For Fish I am keeping mostly community. I have the list of my current fish(in my sig), and then I was thinking of adding a few Harlequin Rasboras and 2 Neon Blue Gourami. I can't remember what the rule of thumb is for fish, I assume though that 46 gallons can handle quit a bit o fish.