Dorm Aquarium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Paty

Aquarium Advice Regular
So, I still haven't found an aquarium yet, but as I was thinking about this I came across another problem. I'm a college student and will be living in an on- campus college apartment, so we still have to move out for the entire month of December. My question is, would it be feasible to get an aquarium for the apartment that would have to go without maintenance for a month, and that would have to be moved out after 9 months?

A month is a long time to not tend to your aquarium. A week or so is doable, but I don't know about a month. It is feasible to move it home with you for a month though.

I did it in college. 10 gallon, low light live plants, low bioload of hardy fish--all the things that lead to a stable tank that doesn't need such constant maintanence. I set it up at the beginning of the school year so it was quite stable by December. Left it over the holidays. Moved it to my apartment the next summer. Didn't lose any fish. It's one of those things that could work fine or could fail miserably. Also probably depends on your tank experience (I had kept fish for years at that point).

I'm looking at doing the same thing. What would be the procedure for moving a 29-gal freshwater aquarium home for break?