Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-03-2013, 06:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Driftwood or Rocks

What is the best setup in a 20 gallon tank with sand and planning to have the take obtain live plants (if it matters). Is driftwood better, or rocks? Please keep in mind I am a general beginner. Thanks for the help! kindof a short question but many responses is appreciated.

Old 01-03-2013, 06:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by beginner on the loose View Post
What is the best setup in a 20 gallon tank with sand and planning to have the take obtain live plants (if it matters). Is driftwood better, or rocks? Please keep in mind I am a general beginner. Thanks for the help! kindof a short question but many responses is appreciated.
Driftwood definitely for a planted tank. You can attach plants to it and rocks would just take up space that could have plants.

Old 01-03-2013, 06:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

I totally forgot about attaching the live plants, would it be weird to have a peice of driftwood and a rock in the backround?
Old 01-03-2013, 06:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
I totally forgot about attaching the live plants, would it be weird to have a peice of driftwood and a rock in the backround?
No I think it would look cool.
Old 01-03-2013, 06:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award

I always use DW and rocks together even in small tanks as I think it give the tank a natural look.
Old 01-03-2013, 06:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular

I agree. Driftwood would be the better of the two if you want to pick just one. Easier for plants to sink their roots into and some fish like wood to nibble on.
Old 01-03-2013, 06:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak