Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-31-2005, 01:41 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunnyvale,California
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to azn_fishy55
Dry Ice

Since dry ice is a sloidifyed form of CO2, would putting some in a DIY CO2 System would supply an adequate amount of CO2?
__________________

__________________
=] ~:Andrew:~ [=
azn_fishy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 01:53 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
I think your thinking in new territory here.. :P someone has to think these things up.. :P
it might be well not very conceivable.. how quickly will it melt? is CO2 the only product released by it?
at least your not running natural gas or propane burners through thought process..
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 02:32 AM   #3
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Its been done. Dry ice sublimates fairly quickly (releasing CO2 and nothing but), but usually at too quick of a rate to be particularly useful [you would have either very high output or a container under a lot of pressure (much more than most DIY flasks could handle) for at least shortish periods]...besides, it would be a pain (and a bit pricey) to be replacing the dry ice every few hours.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 04:56 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
so if you had a canister that could hold it.. such as a CO2 canister with assorted equipment it would just be cheaper and less of a hassle to get it filled?
Im curious how they produce the gas to fill your canister.. maybe thats another thread topic altogether..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 08:56 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
can't fill a co2 cylinder with solid CO2... CO2 is ONLY a solid when put under extreme pressure and cold.

And no, it would be more expensive. A 3lb block of dry ice costs $7.50 around here, and might last 12 hours.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 02:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
To reduce the sublimation rate to make dry ice feasible, you would have to refrigerate it. Thus, the pressurized system would be easier and cheaper. I like your "out of the box" thinking though.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 03:53 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mr86mister's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Syracuse,NY
Posts: 895
Send a message via AIM to mr86mister
and also, if you have a deep tank put where the CO2 is released at the bottom so alot of the CO2 is absorbed before the bubble hits the surface *by the way, i'm new and learning alot about CO2 stuff and just correct me if i'm wrong*
__________________
3 Gallon Betta, 14 Gallon BioCube Planted, 29 Gallon Community, 29 Gallon Parrot Cichlid/Pleco
46 Bowfront Reef Tank, 3 Cats, 1 Choc. Lab
mr86mister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 05:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunnyvale,California
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to azn_fishy55
I thought of this because my yeast generator wasn't making alot of bubbles. So I thought adding dry ice would make my Reactor more efficient.
__________________
=] ~:Andrew:~ [=
azn_fishy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 09:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Memphis,Tn US
Posts: 447
Adding dry ice would kill your yeast culture because it would freeze the water if there was enough of it.
__________________
Hoovercat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 09:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,082
Send a message via AIM to krap101
we're not talking about putting in dry ice in the yeast culture, were talking about dry ice creating the c02.

also if you refrigerate you can control the rate it melts, thus a more controllable diy co2
__________________

__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dry

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dry Ice for CO2? jerman Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 07-07-2006 02:09 AM
can dry ice be used to refill CO2 tank? hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 09-29-2004 01:51 AM
dry ice Dr.Danio Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 35 01-20-2004 10:23 AM
Ice-out! Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 6 03-10-2003 04:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.