Fancy Goldfish Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Thaiboxer

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi all -

I am fairly experienced with FW aquariums, I run a 55 gallon SA cichlid tank at home. This question is regarding my 10 gallon tank I just set up at work.

This tank has been running for 1 month with 2 fancy goldfish. However, 1 died about a week ago. He always looked weak, so it was no surprise. Today I bought another fancy goldfish and a very small pleco (as he grows, he'll be moved to my large tank).

The new fancy goldfish is black, and has a few tiny white spots on one side. Having lost a great many fish to ich as a newbie, I'm paranoid! I'm going to wait to take action until I have a better idea of whether this is ich or not, but I'm wondering how to treat it in this tank. Why's that, you ask?

I've had great success treating ich with heat and salt. However, fancy goldfish are colder water fish - will they hold up to either? If it's ich, can I slowly crank up the temperature without killing off my fish? What about goldfish and a small amount of salt?

I'd appreciate advice from anyone who knows about fancy goldfish.

Thanks!

I have a solution called MelaFix that my local pet store says treats most everything a goldfish can get. It is a natural solution made from Tea tree and will not harm other fish in the tank. You might also try melachite green of formalin. however I have read that chemicals tend to take longer to rid of the disease due to the bacteria developing immunities to them that is why I would recommend the MelaFix first. As well as frequent water changes. Good Luck!

i had one of my godies up at 82 for 3 weeks and she seemed fine, though it didn't help her dropsy.

Melafix has absolutely no effect on ich preciousmoments. If this is ich, it needs to be treated properly ASAP.