Fat Gourami and Odd Coloring

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gouramii

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello I've got a problem with my honey gourami and two of my dwarf gouramis.

I went camping for three days and left my fish with their light off and I dropped a piece of 5-day tetra feed into the tank for them to have something to eat. I came back today and my honey is as fat as can be and my two dwarfs have what it looks like black bellies (including their anal fins).

What on earth happened while I was away?

Oh the dwarf's colors are returning gradually with the light back on. Does that have something to do with it?

They ate too much if the five day feeder is gone. If you are only going for a few days I would feed before you leave and they should be fine. Don't feed them for a few days and see if it gets better. I'm no expert though, maybe someone with more experience can chime in.

I agree with skiweeangel. For future reference, those feeders aren't so great. Your fish will be fine for a few days, or else try to get a fish sitter.
They are probably bloated. Try feeding them a few shelled, cooked, insalted peas.
BTW, did you get a bigger tank? Just curious because I thought you were going to return them all except for 1 dg.
The feeder stone also probaly fouled up your water, so you should test your water parameters. You may be having water quality issues also.

^^ Good advice. Do a good sized water change (50%) and vacuum the substrate to get any remaining food out, test the water afterwards and do another pwc if any ammonia, nitrite or nitrates over 10 are showing.