Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-14-2011, 07:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jeffruth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 271
Filter change and cycle

I just bought a aquaclear 50. Currently have a 20. If I take all the media from the 20 and put it in the 50 with the new media(all going into the same tank as before) do I have to worry about a mini cycle. So just replacing the filter I have now.
__________________

__________________
FW 90gal w/ 20gal sump
Current Stock - 14 Columbia Tetra/11 Serpae Tetra/16 Prisella Tetra/6 Yoyo Loach/1 Red Tail Shark/10 Giant Danio /2 Lazer Corys/6 Bolivian Rams/4 Otocinculus /6 Borneo Suckers/ 1 Albino Bushy Nose Pleco/ Flame Moss / Moneywort / Vallesaris / Java Fern...
jeffruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 07:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
That would work just fine. You should not experience any kind of cycle.
__________________

__________________
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 09:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
+1 As long as you're not adding a bunch of new fish, you should be fine.
__________________
ďA man's errors are his portals of discovery.Ē
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 11:38 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jeffruth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 271
Good. I took the extra insert for my AC20 and doubled it up with my current media from the AC20. Should work good then I can replace with proper size pieces as I go or mix and match different types of cartridge. That's why I like the AC series. And no new fish.
__________________
FW 90gal w/ 20gal sump
Current Stock - 14 Columbia Tetra/11 Serpae Tetra/16 Prisella Tetra/6 Yoyo Loach/1 Red Tail Shark/10 Giant Danio /2 Lazer Corys/6 Bolivian Rams/4 Otocinculus /6 Borneo Suckers/ 1 Albino Bushy Nose Pleco/ Flame Moss / Moneywort / Vallesaris / Java Fern...
jeffruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, cycle, filter, filter change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Substrate change after filter change Floyd R Turbo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 03-18-2009 12:02 AM
Filter Change During Cycle Parker Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 08-12-2005 07:44 AM
Water change during cycle? Shannono Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 05-04-2005 06:56 PM
Water Change during Cycle FynFysh818 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-17-2005 10:26 AM
change filter media before cycle completes agentgreen Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 09-13-2004 09:53 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×