Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-27-2014, 04:30 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,147
Get a Fluval C4 or the largest AquaClear (AC 110?). You can easily customize the media in these. Monthly upkeep is kept low due to not having to buy proprietary filter cartridges.

You can buy two HOB's and place them on opposite ends for even more filtration (i.e. two AC70's).
__________________

__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 08:35 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 23
I don't know anything about customizing media for fancy goldfish (or any fish for that matter.) How would that be done?
__________________

__________________
Kady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 08:55 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,728
AC filters come with 3 types of media: sponge, a mesh bag of carbon, and a mesh bag of ceramic media (looks like small, rough, whitish pebbles). You don't need the carbon bag so that will free up some space for other media such as a layer or wad of filter floss (for removing fine particles), extra ceramic media (for additional potential space for beneficial bacteria to grow), another sponge (coarse mechanical filtration or additional biological filtration), or chemical media used for polishing the water (not the same as carbon). This is what is meant by customizing the media. Or you can simply go with the media that comes with the filter.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 09:06 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,147
Well.. the filters I mentioned come with media already. But if you wanted to add more bio media for instance, there's room to add more.. or if you wanted to add a product like Purigen you can. In my AquaClear, i cut some filter floss to size for that extra level of polishing. In my Fluval C2, instead of constantly changing the sponge, I rinse it in siphoned tank water. I separated the polishing layer that comes attached to the sponge when it goes bad, and then use the cut-to-size filter floss in lieu of it. Works just as good and saves lots of money versus if you go with another brand filter that forces you to buy their cartridges.

Goldfish are heavy ammonia producers. Having extra filtration is important. Also using quality filters that have the extra room for customization is advantageous. First off, I'd start with adding extra biomax to these filters to increase their beneficial bacteria capacity. Then after the tank is cycled, I'd look into adding purigen. Purigen absorbs nitrogenous organic waste that would otherwise result in more ammonia, nitrates, and nitrites. Lastly, would be some filter floss.

Here's the filter floss.

http://www.amazon.com/Marineland-PA0...s=filter+floss
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 09:18 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,147
Here's a good video on an AC70. Notice how he has multiple bags of biomax in his AC on his goldfish tank? I'd just add the layer of filter floss, right on top of the large sponge. TBH, like him, I haven't replaced the sponge or biomax for years. Just a simple rinse in dechlorinated water will do. Same with the Fluval C4.

AquaClear 70 Hang On Back (HOB) Filter Review: http://youtu.be/Tnnb4uPDidg
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 02:25 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 23
Does anyone know about the FilStar XP3 canister filter? It technically filters twice the size of the tank I'm going to purchase, but as goldfish are so dirty maybe that's a good thing? and, would that mean I could stick with just one filter, or should I have an additional filter with my fancy goldfish?
__________________
Kady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 02:57 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,147
I personally like the fluval 306 or 406. You can just use one. Larger capacity than a HOB. Also much quieter. Easy to clean. And self priming.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 03:07 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 23
I love the look of the fluval ones a lot! does it do well with aquarium sand? my gold colored goldfish seems to enjoy rubbing against the sand (sometimes) so i don't want to change the substrate.
Note: I'm moving all the belongings from the aquarium they're in now to the 55 gallon. they really have an area to play right now. I plan to make the middle for swimming, and the far side like a forest with live plants.
__________________
Kady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 03:33 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Barbz99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 147
Goldfish usually will eat plants...also the Fluvals are good, but if you want to stay under $100 I would get it cause it will cost $20-$30 more than your cap. Any filter will work with sand besides undergravel filters, which are not used for the most part any more


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Fish tanks required equation.. X+1, with X being the current amount of tanks.
Barbz99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 03:43 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 23
it's a flexible cap for sure. I have live plants in with them now and they only seem to nibble on broken off pieces. is that bad?
__________________

__________________
Kady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filtration issues, or lack-there-of filtration... penelope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 03-02-2008 08:22 PM
filtration question mdl91881 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 11-23-2002 09:04 PM
Question, biological filtration in Brackish Aquarium John Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 09-22-2002 01:49 PM
Bio Filtration Question spewns Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 08-19-2002 10:34 PM
Berlin Method of Reef Filtration reefrunner69 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 05-20-2002 09:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.