Filtration Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dwp5352

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, this is my first time using this site, and had a question about filtration. I currently have a 30 gallon freshwater fish tank that houses a single goldfish. Lately I have been noticing that the tank water is not staying clear, and think it is a problem with my filter (quietflow hang on filter). I want to upgrade to a Cascade 1000 filter rated for up to 100 gallons. I was wondering if this would be too big/overpowered for a 30 gallon tank? Thank You

No. I have a Fluval 205 on a 60 litre tank, that's about 180gph on 15g.
My puffer loves it!

Gph/tank volume gives turnover. 2 or 3 times per hour is normal. You'll be just above normal. I can't see it causing any issues. The fish will probably enjoy it!

Tank Filtration

Hello, this is my first time using this site, and had a question about filtration. I currently have a 30 gallon freshwater fish tank that houses a single goldfish. Lately I have been noticing that the tank water is not staying clear, and think it is a problem with my filter (quietflow hang on filter). I want to upgrade to a Cascade 1000 filter rated for up to 100 gallons. I was wondering if this would be too big/overpowered for a 30 gallon tank? Thank You

Hello Dwp...

The mechanical filter that moves water around the tank doesn't do much to keep the tank water clean. It simply takes in dirty water and returns the same water a little less toxic. A lot of tank keepers overpower the tank with high end filtration systems, thinking it will keep the water clean, it won't. All they need to do is remove and replace the water more often. The large, frequent water changes are the real filter.