finally pictures, new tank pics and questions!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oneball

Aquarium Advice Activist
Well i finally got some pictures of my one tank. 30 gall with kenyi cichlids. be gentle its my first time taking pictures of a fish tank... all suggestions welcome! im a nub so feel free for any input please! questions to follow...

my tank 30 gall

img_1014268_0_d36f36f685b09032a9ee437d4827d404.jpg

the ruler of my tank my only yellow kenyi

img_1014268_1_738ec0358acce5b7520f96a0b3f462c3.jpg

new tank 70+ gallon. got it for 50 bucks

img_1014268_2_62a3d16be03c699580f4d506c5d345a0.jpg

img_1014268_3_74499f7e484f15da7f39dcefddc12cd6.jpg

questions about substrate for new tank, algae etc to follow haveta run!!

Exactly the kind of information I need! With my new tank i was going to do a sand substrate, gonna be another chiclid tank. Not the kenyi's though way to agressive

Hey there :D

I too was going to suggest going with a sand instead of the blue gravel and also a black or dark blue background. Those backgrounds with pictures on them just distract from the colors of the fish IMO.

You will also need a lot more rocks for them. Enough that each fish has at least one cave to hide in, 2 is even better. That way the dominant fish does not take over the whole thing.

the ruler of my tank my only yellow kenyi
If you are going to keep Kenyi, keep only ONE yellow one, because yellow Kenyi are the males. If you get more than that they will fight badly. Females stay blue. Kenyi are one of the most aggressive Mbuna there is, so watch them close.

What else do you have? Are they going into the new 70 gallon tank? A 30 is just too small for adult Mbuna.