Fish selection for my first community tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

maxfrenkel19

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone,

I'm new to fish keeping and am setting up my first community tank. I've found a cheap 55gal used setup that I'm going to buy later this week. I've been doing a lot of research online and in pet stores, and I've come up with a list of fish that I think will get along and are attractive or interesting.

I'd love to get the opinions of the more experienced members of this site. So far my list includes:

elephant nose - (I've heard not a beginning fish, but I really like them)
bolivian ram - (I've heard a peaceful enough cichild to keep in a community)
Black lace angelfish - (is it best to have 1, 2, or many?)
american flagfish - (heard it's a good beginning killifish)
boesemani rainbow - (does it need to school or can I just have one?)
dwarf gourami

I also wanted to keep at least one school. I think guppies are beautiful, but I think the previous fish includes a couple fin nippers, so I was thinking maybe Endler's Livebearers as I think they are very attractive as well.

So that's my current list...will these fish get along? If not, do you have a replacement suggestion? Do I have enough space for all these fish, or do I have extra space? I'd love to hear everyone's opinion and get help.

Also, what are some of your guys favorite fish? I'd like to hear them and possibly include them in this or another tank.

Thanks in advance, any help is greatly appreciated!