Fishless Nitrogen Cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

boyen

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi Guys,

I'm new to the aquarium world and have a few questions regarding a fishless nitrogen cycle.

I have added ammonium over the last couple of weeks ensuring the level never got above 4 ppm. Now I see high levels of nitrite, 5 ppm, as well as very high levels of nitrate (60-80 ppm). Is this normal?

I have done a 50-60% water change but the nitrite is still there as well as the nitrate. Should I hold back on ammonium?

I have several snails in there and they seem to be doing fine. I had 8-10 plants in the aquarium but they all died except for one while I was on a business trip and my wife was in charge :-o. Could it be the gravel that has absorbed a lot of nitrite and nitrate and hence the levels are not dropping after a water change?

Any suggestions are highly appreciated.

Regards,
Lars

Likely you just have really high levels of both. Try doing two consecutive water changes of 80-90%. Then test your water.

I personally think that your tank has enough bacteria to add fish. After those water changes, test your water. If you're at 0 for everything then dose 2ppm ammonia. Finally, test your water again same time tomorrow. If your water reads 0 for ammonia and nitrite and has a Nitrate reading then just do another big water change and add your fish!

Thanks for the quick reply, sinibotia! Much appreciated!

I did the following:

1. Did a 90% water change
2. Let my canister filter run for 15 minutes
3. Did another 90% water change
4. Let the filter run another 15 minuter before measurements

The result of my measurements after the changes:

NH4: 0.05-0.1ppm
NO3: 5ppm
NO2: 0.7ppm

What I don't like is the NO2 still being rather high after such a change. Any suggestions?

Once again thanks for any input!