Floating Snail??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SparKy697

Aquarium Advice Addict
This is my first time I have actually sought out a snail to put in a tank. As usual I have no idea what kind of snail it is, maybe as big around as a dime.

I put him in the tank and he was doing quite well. We went out and when I came back home I found him floating in a calm spot just under the filter outlet. His little door seems to be closed up tightly.

Is this normal behavior in a new tank? Or does this mean the end of Mr. Snail?

Its normal, but you might want to check your water parameters (ammonia, nitrites, nitrates) esp since you say his door is closed tight. I've found that whenever my snails are closed up tight that there's something "wrong" with the water (they really aren't comfortable in high nitrates - at 30ppm they really slow down; ammonia and nitrites can kill them)

Thanks joannde,

I did check water this morning and found things look pretty good:

Ammonia = 0
Nitrite = 0
Nitrate = 20

I found the snail on the bottom of the tank this morning with the door slightly cracked and I thought it was dead. I pick it up to look at it and when I did the door went shut tight again. So I placed it back where I found it and decided to just leave it alone to get used to the new tank.

Im a snail lover. I own a large apple snail. We bought him the size of a pea and he is now half dollar size and still growing. I also spend a great deal of time reading.

If ever in doubt pull the snail out and touch his door if he moves he is alive. A dead snail smells really bad and you will know it is dead. They start to stink rather fast.