flowerhorn

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

peppermjnt

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hey guys. Im new to fish keeping, I got my flowerhorn around 6 months ago. its i a 15 gallon tank, im getting a bigger tank next week, he grow up quite big for the old one now. a few weeks ago I noticed pink/white cotton-like spots on his fins. got a " speedy heal" which makes water bright green. its been 4 days now and it didnt do anything, also i keep adding a table spoon of salt every time I change 20% of water, as a petshop guy told me it will cure everything. no changes. I start to worry. the fish acts the same, except I think Im stressing it out with that green water. help!! i don't want the disease to spread

:welcome: to AA! :)

How big of a tank? I would say 75-95 gallon minimum, depending on the flowerhorn.

What is your water quality? What are your water parameters as in ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates? Is your tank cycled? How often do you do water changes?

Thanks for ur reply! nitrite and nitrate are 0 , yesterday nitrite was 0.2. i havent checked for ammonia, couldn't find it in the petshops. i ordered it, it should be there next week. the tank is 57 litters. I used to change water once in two weeks, but now that my fish is sick I change 20% every day.

Your pet shop is testing your water? Are they testing it with a liquid test kit or strips? Nitrates are usually never zero unless your tank is super havily planted.

15 gallons is the same as 57 liters so...you're moving it into the same tank??? :confused:

no no, i was gonna buy a test kit for ammonia next week.
weird nitrate showed 0, but my tank has no plants.
yea its my old tank thats 57 litters, the new one will be around 50 gallons, sorry I thought u didnt read it in my first post.