Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2013, 03:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishboy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: elmont/valley stream, long Island, New York
Posts: 365
Fluval 405...

Ok so I have this fluval 405 fcanister for about 3 years now... I have really don't anything but cleaned the sponges and rinsed the rings out every now and the (with tank water)... I ah vent changed any parts.... How will I know if the canister is still working at top condition... I haven't changed the hosing in filter(the tubes from the canister leading into the tank) as well... How can I clean it or should I change it?or should I leave it alone?
__________________

__________________
fishboy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 02:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Do you have any problems with your filter ? Does your output flow seems ok ? Do you have any ammonia nitrites in your tank ? Is it making noise ? Is it leaking ?

If not, then your filter is okai, the filter job is to keep water clear and convert ammonia to nitrites then to nitrates.

If the hose get clugged, I would change them, as they very hard to clean. You must rinse the bio part with tank water, so the bacterias will have maximum surface to contact with water. You can rinse the filter pads under tap water, it will bleach them a bit and give them their original white color.

So to know if it working in top condition, make ammonia/nitrites test, and you'll know if the main part is working properly. You should get 0ppm both readings.

You can measure the flow with buck and water and compare your data with the compagny rating. Usually compagny overrate their products, so a product rated 200GPH can be 140GPH new, and without filters mass. You can go the classic way, just put your hand under the output flow, and if it make you happy, then it's working properly.
__________________

__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishboy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: elmont/valley stream, long Island, New York
Posts: 365
What is the buck and water test???
__________________
fishboy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 01:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Flow test, to mesure the flow...
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 01:35 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishboy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: elmont/valley stream, long Island, New York
Posts: 365
How do you do it?
__________________
fishboy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 03:57 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
you make the water flow go in a bucket for 1 min, then you mesure the water in the buck, and multyply this volume by 60 then you'll get your GPH flow of your fluval system.
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 02:24 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishboy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: elmont/valley stream, long Island, New York
Posts: 365
Ok guys ... After cleaning the hose..I took a pic of the water pressure .. What do you guys think????

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1388517869.714047.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	201.6 KB
ID:	214485Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1388517879.063333.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	197.7 KB
ID:	214486Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1388517888.012258.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	199.8 KB
ID:	214487

Ps.. I wish I can upload a video...
__________________
fishboy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 05:02 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishboy87 View Post
What is the buck and water test???
I reckon you have nothing to worry about there. The flow looks very strong. Canisters should last years, many more than 3 yrs. You may consider changing the O ring soon, if that cracks it can cause a leak but that's normal maintenance...I would not rinse the filter pads under tap water though. Don't worry if it looks brown, you'll never get it back to the original colour. Once you clean the gunk off, you'll be fine....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 05:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
I just think that don't need any waterflow test, if it would be my filter, I would be satisfied by this water flow... Your flow look fine, just make sure your filter is clean and cycled, then you're like a fish in water !

As Ian told, next problems you'll get with your filter is the o-Ring and/or the impeller.

I suggest you get a new O-ring, can make a little/huge mess when it break. For the impeller just wait it become noisy or it stop working.
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:03 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Old Scales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 2,752
Fishboy,
Your flow looks great. Here's a tip about keeping the impellor chamber clean.
First put the strainer in your sink drain. lol In case you drop a part. In the head (or top) part of the filter you can see where the impellor chamber has a removable cap. Unclip it and take it off. Take a needle nosed pliers and pull the impellor straight out. You will see a small ceramic axle shaft sticking up. Gently pull it out. It just sits in a rubber cup hole on the bottom. Flush the chamber out under the faucet a little then take a 1/4 to 3/8" artist's paint brush and swab out the chamber all the way down to the bottom. Flush out a couple of times while you do this. Reinsert the axle shaft back into the hole. You can tell it's in there when it stands up on its own. Slip the impellor back onto the axle and reinstall the cap. I do this about once every 4 months on my Fluval. What happens is the water flow made by the impellor is mostly up by its blades. The area down around the impellor's armature is a sort of dead area where gunk can accumulate. This impellor works on a magnetic commutator principle and it doesn't take a lot to interfere with its inertia. This chamber cleaning also works well on the Aquaclear HOB's also. This will eliminate that possibility for low and sometimes noisey flow. Hope this helps, OS.
__________________
Bonified member of "The Wet Arm Society".
One's life should be measured by the number of people who smile when they remember you.
Old Scales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:05 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishboy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: elmont/valley stream, long Island, New York
Posts: 365
Thanks a lot man I appreciate it....
__________________
fishboy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:12 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Yeah, needed to do this with my Fluval C3 HOB... I clean my eheim canister once 3 month, so I do full care when doing it... Cleaning impellor chamber is a must, too much gunk here, it reduce the flow.
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:14 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Old Scales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 2,752
You are very welcome friend. Keep your dorsal UP! And Happy New Year you guys! OS.
__________________
Bonified member of "The Wet Arm Society".
One's life should be measured by the number of people who smile when they remember you.
Old Scales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:15 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Yeah, it tonight, happy new year for all your fishs guys !

My new year resolution is to get 24 in september !
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:16 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishboy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: elmont/valley stream, long Island, New York
Posts: 365
Thanks happy New Years everyone ....
__________________
fishboy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 11:41 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Old Scales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 2,752
24 Huh?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvincent View Post
Yeah, it tonight, happy new year for all your fishs guys !

My new year resolution is to get 24 in september !
lol That's 24 fish tanks, right? OS.
__________________

__________________
Bonified member of "The Wet Arm Society".
One's life should be measured by the number of people who smile when they remember you.
Old Scales is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×