Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-25-2018, 05:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,586
Fluval FX6

Does anyone have experience with a Fluval FX6 on a 150-180g tank? Would it take one or two of these for a 180g? Reliability? Ease of use?
__________________

__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2018, 10:58 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,145
KF
I thoroughly researched both the FX4 and FX6, when I set up my 120 long. Petsmart was having a sale on both at the time. I inspected the FX6 and noticed that it is roughly the same size as the sand filters sold with kids 500 gal. Swimming pools. The FX4 though smaller, was still huge.
The only canister filter I ever used was the old Marineland 330, on a 58 gal. Oceanic tank. It was more than enough filtration. The FX6 looked at least 3x the size of the old 330. I'm certain that the FX4 along with regular weekly WC would be enough filtration for a 150 - 180 tank. The FX6 might be a little over kill, IMO.
My old M330, was very inconvenient to clean, and I was in constant worry of a leak. Both the FX models look to be big improvements over mine, but still are likely a PIA to clean.
I went with 2 AC 110's. Simply for the ease and convenience of maintenence. My guess is an FX6 would be like having 4 AC 110's.
__________________

__________________
V227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2018, 11:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,586
Thanks man. Generally I run about 3x the filtration on my tanks because I max them out on my stocking. I have a guy who owns a FX6 on a 100g at my local lfs talking it up saying it was better than a sump. I've never owned an FX6 or FX4.
__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 07:38 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,145
Im pretty sure a quality sump system provides the ultimate filtration. I've never had a sump and am not sure if I'm smart enough to construct one. I'd go with an FX6. Lol.
__________________
V227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 01:04 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by V227 View Post
Im pretty sure a quality sump system provides the ultimate filtration. I've never had a sump and am not sure if I'm smart enough to construct one. I'd go with an FX6. Lol.
Lol. No kidding. Just watching Bandit's build I was like wtf is he doing. I would definitely have to learn about plumbing.
__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 01:22 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
agrasyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 400
No hands on experience with fx6, but after researching it on uTube + my not thrilling experience of running sump the fluval is my target setup for my 125gal as I plan on moving the tank and rebuilding . Pair of AC110 are dealing with filtration perfectly, the reason I'm thinking canister is inline heaters and CO2 injection.
__________________
Anton.

125 Gallon , 55 Gallon
agrasyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 01:33 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,145
Anton
The 125 is such a long tank. Might be a good idea to keep the AC 110's going, and add either one of the FX canisters. Now that would be a filtration system that might rival a sump.
__________________
V227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 07:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
agrasyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 400
Thanks for the note V.
Indeed it is long. I'm still researching how others place their otflow and inflow. I would really want to keep the equipment outside as much as possible. those intake tubes of AC's don't look good at all, but i can indeed resort to that if the FX fails to provide all the flow. I still have time to make thw decision though )

Regards!
__________________

__________________
Anton.

125 Gallon , 55 Gallon
agrasyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval Fx6 or Eheim Ultra G160Pro 3 J1Time General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-20-2014 02:00 PM
Fluval FX6, how to go about this beast Zimmanski Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 23 08-04-2013 02:24 PM
Fluval FX6 Chev13696 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 34 04-24-2013 11:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.