Fluval vs Emperor

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hi Fish Lips,

Each manufacturer makes may different models of filters.
Could you please include which models you are trying to compare ?

Im buying a 75gal on the weekend, and as my old aquarium was a 10gal with a powehead I have no idea what Im going to need for a larger tank. So far I have considered the Marineland Emperor 400 or the Fluval 404. They seem to be the most widley used. I have no experience with canisters,bio-wheels,skimmers or any type of media let alone sponges and carbon!!

Basically Im looking for a filter that's easy to maintain and can do the work required for a 75 gal freshwater planted tank.

Im open for reccomendations!

filters

If you don't mind having a filter hanging on the back, I think the Emperor is a superior filter. I have used them for years and have never had any trouble with them. The Bio Wheels are great too...very efficient. But...you said this was going to be a planted tank. Will you be adding C02? If so, I think you would be better off with the canister because it will cause less surface disturbance. Anything that churns the surface will cause you to lose the C02 you are trying to keep in there. I also have an old Fluval canister. It has been a good piece of epuip also. So, if you're going to have C02 injection, go with the canister. If not, and you're sure you don't want to add it later, the Emperor would be my choice.
Logan J

If your are planning to get a canister filter you may be able to save some bucks and get a rena filstar xp2 or xp3. I have two 37 gallon tanks. One has a filstar xp2 and the other has an emperor 400. the water in the tank with the xp2 sparkles it's so clear. The emperor does a great job too but the canister rules.