Freshwater Clams

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Textrix

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So i'm just starting out for the first time with a fish tank. I have a 10 gallon aquarium with three guppies and a zebra danio right now. Eventually I would like a spotted cory and a dalmatian molly or two. I am also considering freshwater clams but there is hardly anything on the internet about that them that says anything other than the fact that they are filter feeders. First of all, I am basically concerned with whether they will be compatible with my fish and the ones I want to get. Specifically the cory because they live on the same level. Also, my sister told me that having a clam will raise the pH of my tank. I'm not sure how true this is but I definitely am not going to ignore it. If someone has any experience with freshwater clams and can answer my questions and possibly mentioning anything else that you think is important then please do! I appreciate it greatly! :confused:

Since shells raise the Ph then I am sure a clam would too.
Danio's are schooling fish so you really need more of those instead of getting the other fish you listed. Cories are also schooling fish and so you need at least five. Your tank is really to small for that many fish.
Good luck

FW clams are filter feeders. They require a well-aged, very heavily planted tank with just tons of "stuff" in the water column and very good water circulation. And even with all of that, you hear a lot more failure stories than success stories in keeping them alive for any length of time. They also need a pretty fine sand substrate so they can bury themselves down in the sand. There would be no impact on pH unless the clam died and you left the shell in the tank for a long time after the clam's death.