GH, KH, pH: Ahh, Chemistry!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pankelephant

Aquarium Advice Activist
I picked up a GH/KH kit today. I'm planning a 55g and figured this would help narrow my stocking choices. While I know that most fish can adapt to varying degrees of hardness and pH, I'm a chemist so I wanted to know. With my background you'd think this was all fairly easy ... not so much. While I understand what all these things mean and how they work, I don't understand how it applies to the home aquarium.

My pH is 7.2 and has been very stable. My GH and KH are wicked low though - both are 2. That's with week-old tank water. Out of the tap the pH and the KH are the same; the GH is 1. (I'm on city water.)

The one I'm the most worried about is the KH because of the pH stability issues. I know that I can use all kinds of chemicals to adjust these levels - calcium carbonate, calcium chloride, sodium bicarbonate, magnesium sulfate ... the list goes on. What I don't like about these solutions is that I have to continue to add them over time. Failing to do so would drop the KH and possibly trigger a pH swing. This is bad.

So - what should I do? What do you do? Can I just ignore it, given that my pH has been stable from the beginning? Should I add something, and if so, what/how? Do I need to seriously consider this when choosing fish for the new tank? As in, no African cichlids? Or rainbows (which would be exceptionally disappointing)?

What say you?