ghost shrimp breeding?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

johnhartigan

Aquarium Advice Regular
What are since of them breeding, I saw one of the bigger one that keeps putting his or her tail underneath it's stomach and doing some weird stuff lol think she's laying eggs maybe hopefully :p I think would be cool to see IMO any tips to make them breed/help BTW I'm new at this hobby:)

Hi, glad you found us here at AA! I have a 10G as a ghost shrimp breeding tank. Females are much larger than the males. When they are preggers, you can easily tell. They will have a bunch of tiny eggs where there swimmerets are. When they are pregnant with the eggs, it's called being "berried" ghost shrimp baby's are harde to raise bec. They go through a larval stage where it's difficult to feed them. If you wan to raise them, you will nee a very mature tank and some plants. IMO, a dying plant is also a good idea too. The larva eat infusoria (if I'm not mistaken) my GS tank has been set up for about 6 months and I've never seen one of my females not pregnant. With that being said, I've only successfully raised 2 ghost shrimp in those 5 months. If you really want to get into shrimp, you should start with RCS (red cherry shrimp) they are pretty cheap and very hardy. Just PM me if you have any questions:) good luck!!

Forgot to mention, you need to cover up the filter intakes so the the baby's aren't sucked up. You could use filter floss or a prefilter. Oh, I just realised I made alot of SP errors in my last post, sorry! You also don't want any larger fish that can fit them in their mouth:) if up really want to breed them, you should start a shrimp only tank. Everything will eat little shrimplets lol