Glo Fish With Missing Tail

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Curious1

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello-I have six glo fish and I noticed tonight that two of them have tails that are missing! They look tattered like it is a fin rot or something is eating their tail fins. I have a community tank and the other four seem to be fine so I'm not sure what is going on. I would think if something else were attacking them they would be attacking all of the glo fish or if it was some kind of tail rot they would all have it but only two do. I am a beginner so I really don't know much about this. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

What else is in the tank, and what size tank is it. Sounds like something is nipping at fins.

It is a 29 gallon tank. I have watched it for days and hours on end while I'm watching TV and I've never seen any other fish chasing them. They are very fast fish any way. I have what are supposed to be all community tank fish. I have Cardinal Tetras, Corydoras Catfish, small Comet Goldfish, Platty and African Dwarf Frog which is very timid and hides most of the time.

Have you watched the tank after lights out? It seems that this is when the nipping occurs more often IME. Weaker fish gt picked on more than health fish, so this could be why there are only two that are being harassed.

Personally, I would find the comet a new home. It will quickly out grow the 29, moreover it is is a coldwater fish where the rest of your fish are tropical.

If I had to pick possible culprits out of your stock list for fin nipping, it would be the comet, platies, or the other glo lights.