Glofish Keep Dying New Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bekershpd

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi, I'm new to aquariums, and I would appreciate any help.

We have a 10-gallon tank, and we let it cycle without fish for several weeks. We added 4 Glofish at once and they all died almost immediately. The pet store checked the water, and everything was perfect. They suggested we didn't have sufficient bacteria, so we got SafeStart Plus and added 2 Glofish. One died overnight, and one has lived three days. We added one Glofish yesterday, and everything seemed fine, so we added two more today. I read they are schooling fish, so we wanted to have 4. We have 3 snails that have lived since the beginning, and they are thriving. Each time we add new fish, we add SafeStart. I have checked the water with the API Master Kit each day, and the water is in normal parameters for each test.

Any ideas? My three-year-old loves the Glofish, but should we think about trying a different type of fish? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Forgot to mention that one of the fish we added today died after about 8 hours. The fish we have had for three days does not look well. So frustrating!

What are the water parameters?

How did you acclimate these fish to your tank?

Also, these fish should be in groups of 6+, not 4.

I just tested this morning, and the pH is high (purple when using the high pH test). It was 7.4 previously. Ammonia, nitrate, and nitrite are 0. Only one fish remains. :-(

I need to do a partial water change. I've never done one before. What is the best way to get the new water to the appropriate temperature?

I need to do a partial water change. I've never done one before. What is the best way to get the new water to the appropriate temperature?