Golden Rams

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bunebop

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi,

I was wondering if any of you have or have had experience with golden rams? I saw some at my LFS and they are beautiful. I don't want to buy anything that has been dyed that color, but they are really gorgeous, but it was the first time I had ever seen (or heard of them), so I thought I'd ask you guys first. Are they similar to the blue and bolivian rams? I have had some (not good) experience with bolivian rams in the past, but I can't get these golden rams off my mind and was considering two for my betta tank (I've had a ram with him before and he was fine). I'm having trouble finding any information about them online. I did find one picture of one in someones tank (not on this website), but that was it. Thanks for any information! (compatability, sturdiness, etc would be apprieciated!)

Apparently the Golden Ram is just another variety. I found this little bit on a site:
There are several varieties of Rams. As mentioned above, the Singapore Ram is one of these. It gets a little larger than the Blue ram, is less colorful, and is not as hardy. The Golden ram is also a delicate fish, sporting a gold/yellow coloration. Then there is the popular Bolivian Ram (Papiliochromis altispinossa-Haseman, 1911) which is the largest and most robust of the Rams, and is known for taking better care of its eggs and fry.

http://hjem.get2net.dk/Best_of_the_Web/blue rams.html

HTH!

rams