Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-14-2019, 01:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Unhappy Green Spotted Puffer-constipated

Hi,

I am a newbie to the group. My green spotted puffer fish, Dave is 2 and half year old. Lives by himself in a 20 gallon long tank. His water parameters are as follows: salinity 1.010. Water temp 81:amonia 0 nitrite o and nitrates 0. Ph 8.2. Sand substrate. Double filtration. Airation. Diet : mainly pellets since freeze dried krill. W/c every 2 weeks.

I noticed 2 weeks ago. Stand off-ish behavior not eating. ( think I overfed and filter was full of gunk. Did 3 consecutive w/c. Finally enticed with bloodworms soaked in garlic. Devoured it. Then next night took some bites out of clam in a half shell. Then no appetite for a few days. Tried 2 Epsom salt baths ( 10 min) .currently trying low dosage of Epsom salth in tank (1/8 teaspoon = 5 gallons for 24-48 hours. After 2 days of north eating put in a ghost shrimp ( his first hunt). He devoured it !!.

He appears more hungry and aliitle more active. Soaking food in diluted Epsom salt solution. He ate a ghost shrimp yesterday ( his first hunt!). And one this morning .

He hasn't pooped for a week (at least). I'm worried about my baby. Any suggestions will greatly be appreciated. Thank you.

Old 03-14-2019, 04:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Yours eats pellets?!? That's amazing.. post a pic. If hes eating than hes healthy.. healthy enough.. sick fish typically do not eat. A sick puffer will probably still eat a little?? Try frozen spirulina brine shrimp. Mine love it and it keeps everything moving to its final destination... anyways.. post a pic. Let's see how he looks.

Old 03-15-2019, 11:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

http://photos.app.goo.gl/6V3HALd5JM8qmT7W6

Hi