Guppies and Molly exhibiting weird behavior?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joshcmayer

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I'm very new to keeping fish and I have a 5 gallon tank which I heard is too small, but I don't think my parents are willing to expand to a 10 gallon unless it really is urgent.

Anyways, I had 1 existing Dalmatian Molly in the tank which was doing fine until I introduced three new male guppies. The Molly would always eat and explore the tank but I got home today and all four of them were in the upper right corner by the filter and haven't moved from that position in about 4+ hours. I'm really worried something's wrong, because the guppies haven't eaten since I got them two days ago and it's the first time the molly's ever stopped eating or stayed in one spot that long.

I purified the water with Top fin and also I changed the water recently. Could it be chemical build up from introducing three new guppies? The temperature is 72, which I believe is correct because they're not all huddling around the filter.

I'm sorry if I sound super inexperienced and dumb (I am!) but all help is appreciated! I just want my fish to start moving around and eating, especially the Molly, as it's been successful in that tank for a month and I'd hate for it to die now.

Thank you!!

Also, I'm not quite sure what cycling is other than it's a long process. could it help in this situation? Sorry for my inexperience!

Also, I'm not quite sure what cycling is other than it's a long process. could it help in this situation? Sorry for my inexperience!
Hi Josh-

Cycling a tank is when you establish a healthy bacterial community in a previously barren tank. So when you start from scratch in a new tank, it takes a while for the microbial community to balance out into a nice, stable, fish-friendly form.