guppies getting nipped

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tomfleet

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi forum,
I'm a beginner. I have just a quick question about my guppies: 2 of my 3 male guppies seem to have lost bits of their tails lately. I don't think it's fin rot, it looks like trauma, like bites from other fish. There's even a slight red tinge along the edges which I assume is bleeding. In the tank, besides 5 guppys (including another male that's not been nipped so far), I've got 2 zebra danios, 2 neon tetras, a few platys, and 2 corys. The community had been just one lonely guppy (who is one of the one's now getting nipped) and these other fish for a couple of months; the nipping started when I introduced the other guppies recently. I can't catch the nipper in the act. But which would be your guess? the danios?

At the same time I find it odd that the other one of the three make guppies has been untouched, while they are all blue or blue/black tuxedos. As if the danio or whoever the culprit is has newly acquired a taste for guppy fin. Very much appreciate any tips in any case.

Guppy Tails

Greetings tomfleet and "welcome" to the Forum. The condition you describe is well known in the guppy hobby and can be disastrous to your guppies, although I have no idea how it might affect any tank mates. The only known cure is a Formalin 3 dip (NOT FORMALIN) - the instructions are on the bottle. I suggest you treat as quickly as possible. If not the tail will deteriorate and this is fatal to the fish. It's possible that your neon tetras are the culprit but I doubt it. Good luck! - Guppyman

oh no. that's bad