Hard water / High PH lvl...please help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rokz

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hi, this is my first post. I'm a newbie to aquariums and need a little help. I have a 30gal tank I just started. I'm using tap water. I recently tested the water and it read that I had a PH of 7.8. I've tried different products such as "Proper PH" and "PH down", but none have worked. I was told that hard water works against such products. So I tested my water and it read that I had "very hard water." I talk to the guy at Petsmart and he said that doing a 50% water change would drop my hardness. This did not work. I need advice on how to soften my water and drop my PH and if one affects the other?

Thank you

Hiya rokz and welcome to Aquariumadvice :)

Coupla questions first. Why do you need to lower your pH levels? Unless you are raising rams or discus, or looking to breed neon/cardinals, most of the fish we get do fine in higher pH levels. Most come from tanks with pH levels higher then one finds in the wild, and usually your lfs has pH levels in their tanks similar to what you have at home. You may not need to change it.

Also, dropping water hardness can be dangerous and has to be done very carefully; drop it too low and you can cause whats known as a pH crash, which can really affect the fish. Plus, pH shouldn't be changed more the .2 per day, or it can stress the fish badly.

So lets start off by finding out what you have in the tank and why you need to lower it :)

A second note, a water change will never drop your hardness, if the water is already hard from the tap. I would think you have a very serious issue if you were put soft water in a tank and it 'magically' became hard. Did you test the tank water or your tap water?