Help! Blood worms came to life?!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sunfro

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to this, I have a 20gal tank, one of my guppies had babies so I bought a new 10gl tank, cleaned it out, added fresh water/new filter etc.. put the babies in and a little food.My son took the Tetra Blood worm treats and sprinkled some in to the babies tank while I was at work.By the time I got off 4hrs later theres a bunch of little worms moving around the tank on the bottom and swimming around (I turned off the filter and they swim,it's not a current and theres nothing on the bottom of the tank so their easy to see).Aside from being completely disgusted and freaked out, I'm concerned they could hurt the babies...the babies are too small to eat them..what should I do?

What kind of bloodworms were being fed to the guppies, freeze-dried or frozen? Perhaps the bloodworms were going bad and the worms you're now seeing were feeding on them when they were inadvertently introduced into the tank?

This is a new tank with a new filter so I'm not sure how else the live worms got into the tank.

David

They were tetra freeze dried (from walmart), my other tank of fish love them and eat the right away so I've never seen them come to life, he wasn't suppose to put any in the babies tank :S but I didn't know it was possible for them to 'wake up'. I scooped all the babies out & dropped a goldfish in the tank in the hopes he cleans them up, I don't know what else to do

Could it be planeria? They usually pop up hen over feeding has occurred, then again I couldn't imagine them showing up in just a little over 4 hours of one isolated over feeding event.

If you have a gravel cleaner, clean out the substrate. I would also do a 50% water change. Keep us updated good luck!