Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-15-2005, 12:52 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5
Help, Filter too strong?

Hi! This is my first post. Anyways, I just set up a little 5 gallon tank for my betta fish. I have a hang on the back filter, it says you can use it on a tank up to 10 gallons so I thought it would be fine. But, it seems like its too much of a current for the betta. I drop some food in and it swirls around too fast for him to catch it- the current is too strong. The filter is by Aqua-Tech, I read the instructions and I don't think there is a switch where you can decrease the water flow. Any suggestions on how to make it not so strong? I was thinking of attaching a sponge or something to the intake so it doesn't suck up too much water, but I don't want to burn the motor or anything. Any suggestions? Thanks! -Stephanie
__________________

__________________
Iloveoscars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 01:44 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,891
Hi Stephanie,
Welcome to Aquaium Advice!

I have a few 5 gallon betta tanks. In one of the tanks, I use a sponge filter, run by an airpump and a gang valve. The gang valve regulates the air coming from the airpump so the sponge filter doesn't have too much current. See my gallery for pictures of the gang valve and airpump.

You could try putting clean, new, unwashed pantyhose over the filter where the water comes back out into the aquarium. I did that on my 5 gallon Eclipse tank with the bio-wheel filter. You could also try putting the toe of the pantyhose over the intake port. When I cut the pantyhose for my filter, I thought it would run and get ruined, but it's ok so far.

It's very important not to wash the pantyhose; just rinse in some tap water first.

You could also turn the filter off at feeding time.

Good luck with your betta! Do you have a heater for the tank? A 25-watt heater is the perfect size for a 5 gallon tank.
__________________

__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 01:45 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnebago,IL
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to thelovablebum Send a message via MSN to thelovablebum Send a message via Yahoo to thelovablebum
You could turn the filter off when your feeding him so he can get the food. Other then feeding him do you have and other problems with it.
__________________
thelovablebum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 11:37 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
JohnPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,017
Another option is to put some sort of decoration in the tank that will "break up" the current from the HOB filter--get a tall decoration of some sort and put it right in the path of the filter flow.
__________________
JohnPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 12:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5
Ok, I just tried something and it seems to be working. I pulled the intake tube up a little so its a little further away than the propeller. The flow isn't as strong now. Do you think that's o.k. to do?
__________________
Iloveoscars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 02:13 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,891
Yes, raising the intake tube up and down is a way to adjust the flow. I didn't know if yours had that option, so that's why I suggested the pantyhose. But it sounds like raising the tube worked for you!
__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 05:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 384
My sister has a 5 gallon aquarium, and we just delt with that problem. She has a penguin 100b mini, with the adjustable intake tube like you have. I was going to suggest that filter to you (the 100b mini, not the 100 because the 100 doesn't have the adjustable intake tube), but it sounds like the filter you have is working now! It was probably designed that way to control the flow, so it's fine to adjust it. Also, I have a 10 gallon, and I always turn the filter off when I'm feeding my fish. It just gives them more time to eat before it gets sucked away. The current isn't too strong that I couldn't feed them with the filter on, it's just easier this way. Good luck!
__________________
Regen311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 11:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5
Thanks for the advice! Seems like the smaller the tank, the harder it can be... I never have to worry about the filter being too strong in my 55g
__________________
Iloveoscars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 12:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 41
Sounds like you have figured out your problem, but here is another possibility:
http://www.petfish.net/currentkill.htm
__________________

__________________
lannen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my filter to strong? wolffish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 11-15-2009 04:01 AM
Filter too big? (Current too strong?) Darb21 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 03-20-2006 01:16 AM
Eclipse System 3 filter may be too strong for my betta Donatron Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 03-02-2005 03:16 AM
Great deal on a filter, but is it too strong? cheezysquirrelz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 01-26-2005 08:05 PM
Does this look strong hardparts2 DIY Projects 2 09-09-2004 10:49 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.