Help - is it bloat? Is it too late??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mjinxed

Aquarium Advice Regular
Today I noticed that the belly of my favorite fish in the tank had a distinctly larger than usual belly. I’m pretty new to keeping cichlids but I’ve of course heard of the dreaded Malawi Bloat so I practically dove for the keyboard to look up more details. I really fear that my initial thoughts are correct and that this is advanced stages of bloat but I thought I’d come to the boards and ask some far more experienced that myself. Is it bloat? Is there any hope of saving him or is it too late already? I’m really hoping it’s possible to save him.

Yesterday or the day before he looked fine. I was fairly busy yesterday so I admit I didn’t do as much aquarium gazing as I usually do but like I said, this guy is my favorite so he catches my eye a bit more than the others. He still seems pretty active, isn’t hanging on the bottom at all does go behind the rocks a tad more than usual. Also, he’s not quite as graceful as usual when he moves. I read that could be his swim bladder affected by the bloat? His appetite also doesn’t look affected as he bolts to the surface with the rest of them any time I get near the tank.

Here are my tank parameters, habits, and activity of the last few days.

• 75 gal, Aquaclear 110 HOB and Marineland C360 Canister
• 20 juveniles 2-2.5” with this affected one being the largest at closer to 3-3.5”
• pH – 7.6 / Nitrite – 0 / Nitrate – 5-10 / Ammonia – 0.25-0.5
• 25-30% Water changes 1-2x per week
• Food is New Life Spectrum Grow fed 2x/day what they eat in 30-40 seconds. On Wednesdays as a treat I give them 1 small brick of frozen krill. On Sundays I don’t feed them at all
• I do not have a hospital tank