Help/Mentoring with Aquascaping Project

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DreaminginBlue

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So I'll lead with this: I'm a newbie to scaping planted tanks. I have experience with planted tanks, but not with aquascaping. I've been doing some reading, but the wealth of information is overwhelming. I'm hoping for some help or mentoring in getting this project off the ground. I want it to look fantastic but don't really have the know how yet to execute it.
It's going to be low tech and low light, and the stock will be neocaridina shrimp and mystery snails.
Here are the specifics of the tank:
Tank: 20 Gallon Hexagon Tank (19L, 17W, 21H)
Filter: Fluval C3 Power Filter
Heater: Stock Heater
Lighting: Stock Lighting (LED lights)
Substrate: Fine, Smooth Gravel and Seachem Fluorite Dark
CO2: None
Ferts: API Root Tabs
I'm thinking of using a branching piece of spider wood as a centerpiece to look sort of like roots. Then I'll tie some java moss and java ferns and anubias to it (these plants I'm certain on).
Other proposed plants include:
Water Wisteria
Cryptocoryne
Hygrophila
Vallisneria
Buce?
Maybe swords?
Dwarf sag?
The last three I know very little about, so I'm not sure.
I'm wondering if I can get some help with good plants for my setup and placement of said plants. I really want to use the height of the tank. Since there will be no fish I don't need to leave swimming space, I just want tons of surfaces for my inverts to explore; moderately to densely planted would be my ideal. I thought of putting taller plants in the back and then having some smaller plants like crypts in the front. I'll attactch a photo of a scape that I like.
All help is very appreciated. I just want this to be awesome!

Scape is a 15 Gallon Column done by hitmanx from plantedtank.net.
https://flic.kr/p/x1krQ9