Help please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jojenkins

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Im new to thos hobby and have been doing a lot of research. I decided to do a tropical freshwater tank. I have a 60 gallon tank that i have completed and put the water in and started running the tank. Then i started learning about how long to cycle for and this is where im having my problem and have almost gotten to the point where i want to give up befpre ive even started.
I read forums where people say you can put a fish or 2 in right of the jump. Then ive read where some say wait 2 days. Manager at local petco says 2 days. Some other forums say six to eight weeks. Then i read replies where everyone contradicts everyone else. Im new to this and im about to lose my mind.. or maybe ill just call it a bubble tank.
Can someone please give me a simple solution, maybe break it down for me. Ive waited years for this and now i feel like giving up. What do i do? How do i go about it? I want to have a successful aquarium. Right now im running 2 undergravel filters and a hang on filter.. i was told this wouldnt hurt.. im lost .. i just want healthy fish in a healthy aquarium? Please help

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Your tank needa to cycle, that van take time depending on how you do so. Fish-in cycling can take months to cycle and can cause alot of health problems with the fish and requires a lot of care by you. On the other hand you can do a fishless cycle by adding ammoina to the water and let nature do its magic. The pros to fishless is that it can take less time to cycle and your not putting fish through a rough time in the tank. It took my 20 gallon 22 days for my tank to cycle ammoina in 24 hours. A larger tank may take longer but you have a good setup right now to start growing the good bacteria.