Help some advise would be great .

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
G

Okay so im new at this ( but loving it) I recently had a huge disaster with my fish, as my filter broke, I went out and brought a " Interpet BIO filter" and the water went very cloudy and i lost 4 angel fish and 5 tetra's, so I did repeated water changes everyday ( about 20%) and it cleared up i then went to get another filter ( to help / back up) it is a external FLUVAL 205 and is great, ( i have a 30 gallon tank ) anyway the problem I have now is that the remaining fish I have ( 2 weeks later from the disaster) which are tetra's and 2 Opaline Gourami, 1 Pearl Gourami, 1 Dwarf Gourami and 1 Trinidad Pleco ( I think ) all the gourami's are chasing each other and so are the tetra’s, as well as that, the gourami's ( sometimes but not that often) rub against plants/ rocks and AS well as that 1 Opaline Gourami seem to have white fecies, but seems healthy but “slightly” less active ??

Any suggestion would be great

:multi: :multi: :multi: Welcome to AA, someoneoranythi!! :multi: :multi: :multi:

First thing is to get a test kit for the water and find out where you are in the cycle, or if after the disaster, the tank has gone into a mini cycle. Liquid test kits are best and you will need ammonia, nitrite and nitrate tests. pH kits are good to have on hand also.

Reading through this link and checking out diagnostic sites will help if this is not water quality related (or you may be dealing with water quality issues and bacteria/fungal/parasitic issues): http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=64798 I'm sure you will find information on white fecies, which is not normal.