Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-25-2013, 07:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
adammorrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 445
Hillstream Loach Question

I am getting 2 hillstream loaches later today. I was wondering if they absolutely need a powerhead, for current. I have to HOB filters on my 55 gallon tank and was wondering if they would be enough current for them, or if I needed to get a powerhead.
The Filters I have the one rated for 30-45 and the one rated for 90
Aqueon Circulation Aquarium Pumps at PETCO
If I do need a powerhead can someone point one out that I can buy at petco. I tried the aqeuon 900 circulation pump, but it was way to strong. Thanks
__________________

__________________
"Don't tell me the sky's the limit when there are footprints on the moon."
adammorrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 08:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bettaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 5,981
I kept hill stream loaches in a tank with a hang on the back filter that provided a strong current so it really depends on the filter model.
__________________

__________________
Rule number one: Always research a fish before you buy it.

Rule number two: Always cycle your tank.
bettaowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 08:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
adammorrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 445
yah thats what I'm worried about, I'm not sure if my filters give enough current by themselves, and i really want the loaches to live
__________________
"Don't tell me the sky's the limit when there are footprints on the moon."
adammorrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 11:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bettaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 5,981
You could try to look for a hob filter rated for a larger tank.
__________________
Rule number one: Always research a fish before you buy it.

Rule number two: Always cycle your tank.
bettaowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
loach, question, stream

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×