Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-27-2011, 06:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CleverBs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 2,210
how do i make soft water with 6.5ph

I'm going to be keeping blue rams and need soft water with 6.5ph. My tap water is about 7.6ph and hard. Iv read online how to do it but I don't understand. Please explain how I can do this. And please don't use abbreviations because that's were most my struggle is in learning how to do this.
__________________

__________________
CleverBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 06:22 PM   #2
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
The short answer is that they will be fine in 7.6ph so don't worry about adjusting it.
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 06:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,537
You really don't need to mess with your water chemistry, like jeta said. But if you insist on doing it don't use chemical buffers, use peat moss and driftwood
__________________
Fishkeeper26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 06:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CleverBs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishkeeper26 View Post
You really don't need to mess with your water chemistry, like jeta said. But if you insist on doing it don't use chemical buffers, use peat moss and driftwood
I want t lower so the breed and I want them to their best color and that requires low ph. My tank el have a large price of driftwood in it will this help.
__________________
CleverBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 07:19 PM   #5
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleverBs View Post
I want t lower so the breed and I want them to their best color and that requires low ph. My tank el have a large price of driftwood in it will this help.
They'll breed and look just fine in 7.6ph. The driftwood will lower pH if it is releasing tannins.

I wouldn't consider messing with the pH at all unless you start experiencing issues, no use fixing what aint broken.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 08:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CleverBs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey View Post
They'll breed and look just fine in 7.6ph. The driftwood will lower pH if it is releasing tannins.

I wouldn't consider messing with the pH at all unless you start experiencing issues, no use fixing what aint broken.
According to all the information I have read and been told about breeding rams this is not true because high ph at 7.6 will harden the eggs and the fish will not hatch.
__________________
CleverBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 08:08 PM   #7
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411°N/88.3161°W
Posts: 6,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleverBs View Post
According to all the information I have read and been told about breeding rams this is not true because high ph at 7.6 will harden the eggs and the fish will not hatch.
There are plenty of people keeping and breeding rams, discus, or whatever other fish at a PH of 7.6 including me, mines at 7.8 and I've kept and bred darn near everything.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 09:08 PM   #8
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Likewise, I kept a breeding colony of electric blue and gold rams for over a year, trust me, don't mess with anything unless you are having an issue, it'll save you a lot of trouble.

Now let's say you have a breeding pair and the eggs don't hatch, then I'd start looking at options, but no sense in going down that road till you get there.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 09:16 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
herp_mommy's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 1,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey View Post
no sense in going down that road till you get there.

I second this. My German blue rams are fine in 7.0 water, and have been breeding
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
125 malawi cichlid, 110 Discus, 75 reef, 30 reef, 27 reef, 4 planted
herp_mommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 10:02 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oswego IL.
Posts: 338
i had problems at 8.0+
__________________
Owl307 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 11:43 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CleverBs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Owl307 View Post
i had problems at 8.0+
well i read that you should let your water sit for 24hrs then test it and I had a bucket of water that i had whiped up last night for a water change and let it sit over night and so i tested it tonight and its PH was 8.0 and so i called my LFS and they told me that were we live our tap water has a standard ph of 8.0
__________________

__________________
CleverBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
soft

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simplest way to make a isolated cup for hermit crabs~ ENJOY!!! sholi Freshwater & Brackish - Aquatic Reptiles, Amphibians & Herpetology 3 11-16-2011 07:20 PM
water chemistry trouble! lornajane89 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 18 08-22-2011 05:02 AM
A primer on un-filtered aquariums BlackMagic Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 08-07-2011 08:25 PM
My tap water has ammonia in it cloud9 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-04-2011 01:19 PM
I'm stumped leikela Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 06-30-2011 07:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.