Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-14-2005, 08:49 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Glasgow, city of dreamz. (Scotland).
Posts: 31
How high can i fill my tank?

Just outta curiosity really. Ive noticed that most, if not all aquarium tanks ive ever seen don't have visible water lines due to the wood/plastic lid. I was wondering how high up you can, or should, fill a tank safely. My current tank is a 30gal tank with a pine lid. However the waterlinedoesn't reach the lid. There is still roughly another 5 1/2 inches of tank between the waterline and the top of the glass. (Plus another 5 inchs between the glass top and the lid). Is is wise to fill to the rim? I am really only enquiring as our floor is at a slight angle, making our tank look 'lop-sided'.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg my_fish_tank1.jpg (16.2 KB, 2025 views)
__________________

__________________
Honcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 08:59 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,959
Welcome to AA!

From your pic, it looks like the left side is the problem. I would suggest leveling it off. This can be done with a few pieces of wood directly under the stand. That will prevent problems in the future.

You should keep the water line just below the entry of your filter output. This allows for minimal splashing noise and just enough to aerate the tank. I assume you have an HOB.
__________________

__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 09:00 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: York Pennsylvania
Posts: 266
I fill my tank up to about 3 inches from the top wich is about the size of the strip on aquarium. You can fill a little higher if tank is on slight angle , but I would not fill to rim. HTH
__________________
If I'm so slow , why am I allways in the front?
slowboattochina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 09:01 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 743
I fill my tanks to just above the bottom of the trim. You can use shims from HD to level the tank. I am not exactly sure, but I think the uneven pressure may not be good for the seams. I would welcome correction if I am wrong.
__________________
Freedom is the sure possession of those alone who have the courage to defend it. -Pericles

Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden, meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe to assure the survival and the success of Liberty -JFK
fishyrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 09:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 160
I've been filling mine pretty much to the top (as high as I can get it), is that not a good thing to do?
__________________
Kari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 09:38 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,968
I fill all of my tanks just aboce the strip at the top of the tank, never completly to the brim though. I don't like the look of the water line.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 09:46 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 743
Kari, AFAIK, there is nothing wrong with going all the way to the top unless you have anabantoids such as Bettas, or fish that are prone to carpet surfing.
__________________
Freedom is the sure possession of those alone who have the courage to defend it. -Pericles

Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden, meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe to assure the survival and the success of Liberty -JFK
fishyrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 09:54 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 160
LOL! I've never had a problem doing it like that, but I'm definately no expert! Actually, I think I COULD fill mine a little fuller, but I stop at that line on the black liner at the top, the one that the hood sits on. Well, on my tank that HAS a hood, I leave a little space, but my goldie/pleco tanks don't have hoods. BUT! With the betta tank/bowls that don't have a lid...I knew my sons betta jumped out of his bowl a couple times, so with the bettas, I definately don't fill to the top, I stop about an inch or so from the rim.
__________________
Kari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 12:58 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Glasgow, city of dreamz. (Scotland).
Posts: 31
What is 'carpet surfing'?
__________________
Honcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 01:56 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mazdaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Edmotnon, AB
Posts: 751
another method I've heard for leveling is a dense thin foam pad between tank and stand. Of course you'd have to empty the tank but I've seen and heard that it works. I fill my tank to just above the top "strip" so no water line shows...
__________________

Mazdaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you fill a tank with a "Drain & Fill" kit afishoutofh2o Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 07-03-2005 07:02 PM
getting ready to fill tank, please tell me if this is ok? AnnnetteM Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-28-2005 01:36 PM
New tank ... first water fill? Jermz79 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-11-2005 11:39 AM
How do I fill the tank on first setup? havefun Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 02-22-2005 12:40 PM
Help me fill my tank xray Cichlid Discussion 2 05-07-2004 02:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Aquarium News Delivered to your Email!

Stay up-to-date with Aquarium News in your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]