Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-06-2003, 01:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 56
How many fish to cycle a 75gal?

When trying to cycle a 75 gal Rift lake tank with the help of bio-stira. How many fish will I need to create enough ammonia to start the process. I have two 2 inch african cichlids in there now but it doesn't seem like enough bio-load to me. It has only been one day so the tests are 0. I was just wondering if I should a any more fish. Any ideas on how many to use?
__________________

__________________
thanks,

feinhorn
feinhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 01:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sutton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 263
Hi Feinhorn.

I am very interested in this topic myself as I am about to begin cycling my new rift tank.

And I have not tried to used Marinelands bio-spira to start a tank yet.

Sigh knowing Canada it is probably not even available here
I discovered you can't get val's titanium heaters here for some reason, so I had to settle for ebo's.
__________________

__________________
Vote
Here for Aqurium Advice


- - Aquipment --
010gal Glass Tank-QT/Hospital
015gal Glass Tank-Partitioned Fish Jail
33gal Glass Tank-South American Cichlids {Angels)
120gal Glass Tank-Mixed Malawi Rift
small Koi/goldfish pond
peterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 02:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Missouri City, TX USA
Posts: 441
My understanding is to basically start with a full load. By this I mean the appropriate amount of fish - not overloading your tank. But, if you have put in the right amount of Bio-Spira in your tank, and it has been handled properly (meaning the bacteria are still alive) you will need the amount of ammonia produced by a stocked tank to let the bacteria thrive.

That having been said, if you have already added bio-spira with only 2 fish and it has been over 24 hours, then you may want to allow the cycle to progress at a slower rate and add more fish in a couple of weeks to slowly increase the ammonia to keep up with bacteria growth. If it has been over 24 hours with such a small number of fish, you may have already lost a significant amount of the bacteria.

Your other option would be to add more bio-spira along with the additional fish. The good news here is that you can't really overdose with bio-spira.

Hope this helps.
__________________
saberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 02:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
1 once of bio spira puts enough bacteria in the water for 10gallons of water.

So with your tank, you start with a full load and put 8 ounces of Bio Spira in it.


Just keep the Bio-Spira cold on the way home from the store, or else the bacteria culture could die.
__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 03:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Missouri City, TX USA
Posts: 441
Actually, 1 oz. is enough for 30 gal. - fresh in my memory since I used it just a couple of weeks ago. So, for your size tank, you really only need 4 oz total. However, Bio-Spira comes in 1oz., 3oz. and 8 oz. sizes. So, you may want to see which is cheaper, a package of 1oz. and a package of 3oz. OR just a package of 8oz. which would give you some to spare.

What size have you already used? If it was a 3 oz. and you already have two fish in the tank, then adding 3 oz. with 7 or 8 more fish (depending greatly on their size) may work out just fine.

Here's a link to the Marineland website that gives more details about Bio-Spira and dosage.

Click Here for more info.
__________________
saberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 05:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
After checking the site I conceed that saberry is right.

However upon digging a empty package of biospira out behind of what it fell behind, it does indeed say a ounce for 10gal.


A printing mistake I'm sure.

But again, sorry for the misinformation Saberry is right.
__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 05:53 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Missouri City, TX USA
Posts: 441
Nothing to conceed - I had to check their website just to be sure myself.
__________________
saberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 06:14 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,536
Pssst peterp: Its not available in Ca, but you can have it shipped up there. Let me know if you're interested and I'll give you the info.
__________________
aka Cycling Guru and the Ich Slayer

*glares at Terry and QTOFFER*

Card carrying member of FTAS & GCAS.
Allivymar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 06:27 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sutton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 263
Lowers cone of silence.

sure knowing where to get it would be good for next time.

I'll probably have the tank cycle started long before the mail could get any to me.
With the weather getting cold, might be good time to get some delivered, not to warm out anymore and not cold enough to freeze anything.

Raises cone of silence.
__________________
Vote
Here for Aqurium Advice


- - Aquipment --
010gal Glass Tank-QT/Hospital
015gal Glass Tank-Partitioned Fish Jail
33gal Glass Tank-South American Cichlids {Angels)
120gal Glass Tank-Mixed Malawi Rift
small Koi/goldfish pond
peterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 01:17 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 176
Send a message via ICQ to RubixCube Send a message via MSN to RubixCube
I have been in contact with the a shop in Dallas TX trying to get some bio spira sent to Canada. Sure, bio-spira is all fine to get sent, but it needs to be sent in a chiller...therefore up goes the cost of shipping. Just wasent worth it. It would have cost me well over 50 bucks for a litte bottle of bacteria.
__________________

__________________
RubixCube is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
75g, 75gal, cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
75gal up and going cars4fun2001 Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 19 04-28-2009 12:27 AM
fish suggestions for a 55 to 75gal Tukie2kie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 02-24-2007 12:17 AM
Is this too much for a 75gal? ckmn101 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-23-2006 11:39 AM
75gal Zagz Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 8 03-09-2006 01:12 AM
My 75Gal Wizzard~Of~Ozz Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 12 02-19-2006 12:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.