Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-13-2014, 06:45 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
How much litres does each tray hold in SunSun canister filters?

I bought a 1200lph SunSun canister filter from Ebay. It has 3 trays for media. But does not come with media. I wanted to fill 1 tray with Seachem Matrix, but I dont know how many litres of Matrix to buy to fill up the tray. Does anyone know how much would fill it up?

I wanted to put ceramic noodles and course foam on bottom tray. Seachem Matrix in middle tray. And polish foam/pads in top tray.

Thank you.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 07:33 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,117
Good Timing!! 1 litre if matrix should completely fill the top tray! Marineland foam fits as well.. just thought I'd share, it's pretty cheap over here

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 07:44 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
Hello,
Whats marineland foam look like? I could try find it on ebay.
Also, what is good timing?
Thank you for the response.


Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 07:47 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by sealife View Post
Hello,
Whats marineland foam look like? I could try find it on ebay.
Also, what is good timing?
Thank you for the response.


Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Good timing because I just set one up a few weeks ago and just ordered another, also figured out 500g. Was not enough matrix to fill the tray linky link..
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000OQ...&robot_redir=1

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 08:05 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
Thank you.
Are they good filters? Is water crystal clear?
What size filter do you have on which size tank?

Thanks.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 08:09 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by sealife View Post
Thank you.
Are they good filters? Is water crystal clear?
What size filter do you have on which size tank?

Thanks.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
You never really know how clear your water is until you do a wc and dump it in a white sink... my water is 100% crystal clear I run a 304b on a 30l, ac 70 too. 200ml. Of purigen in the can..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 02:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
Very nice. Do you have a picture of the tank and water? Can I also ask how exactly u put media in the filter?
Thanks.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 02:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,117
Sure do! In the sunsun from bottom to top, coarse foam, floss pad 200ml purigen and bio balls, seachem matrix. The aqua clear has foam, fiber pad and biomax..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1415907374285.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	236.9 KB
ID:	255686  
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 02:46 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aqua_holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: not here
Posts: 898
I use fluval ceramic prefilter rings in the bottom tray, with the pads/foam in the second tray and then third and fourth trays are full of biomax. There are MANY ways to set up the filter.
__________________
aqua_holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 02:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
Thanks guys. Im excited. I dont know much about sunsun filters. I'm used to eheim canisters. And I have just bought it on ebay so im still waiting for it to get delivered.
What model is my sunsun canister? 1200lph, 3 trays, no uv. Ebay listing did not specify.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 02:52 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
Also, its 25watts.
Thanks.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 02:53 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aqua_holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: not here
Posts: 898
How much litres does each tray hold in SunSun canister filters?

That's the 302 model I think. Either that or the 303 - 1200 Lph is right between their respective 265 and 370 GPH ratings so I'm not sure.
__________________
aqua_holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 03:02 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
Lol thanks. Anyone know the exact model number?

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 08:12 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
I just found out its biopro ef-1200. Where can I find course pads and polishing pads for this filter?

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 08:28 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,117
Ill let you know what works off the shelf, mine just showed up today actually.. smaller than the the 304b.. stand by..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 08:46 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
Thank you so much for helping me out.

Here is a picture of the filter:

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...5L._SY300_.jpg

Is that a filter that comes off SunSun brand?
__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 09:29 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aqua_holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: not here
Posts: 898
That's not a sunsun.
__________________
aqua_holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 09:32 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
Whats the parent company for this called. Theres millions of them all over ebay, all the exact same just different logo name.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 09:36 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aqua_holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: not here
Posts: 898
How much litres does each tray hold in SunSun canister filters?

Are you in UK? Cause you have a lot of products that we don't.
__________________
aqua_holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 09:42 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sealife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 739
Australia

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
sealife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, canister filters, filter, filters, ray

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions and review on SunSun canister filters Fishanatic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 30 10-31-2014 12:43 PM
Sunsun canister filters? kmny34 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 09-29-2013 01:13 AM
canister tray capacity Qozux General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 09-25-2013 10:09 PM
How many litres/gallons does aquaclear 70 holds? sealife Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 09-06-2013 09:20 PM
sunsun hw-303b tray question Leoffensive General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-04-2013 07:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×