How much sand do I need?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EvanWells

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey so I have a standard 29g tank. How much sand should I buy? I dont want to over buy or under buy. Thanks in advance!

What kind of sand are you buying? How deep do you want the substrate?

Live sand. Im open to suggestions though, I am new to sand. And I want the average depth, 2 inches or so.

You dont need "live sand" at all. If you want a particular brand of sand, get it because you like the color or consistency. Dont get it because its live.

There are some options out there though.

Pool filter sand is a nice brown color. It comes in 50lb bags for about $8, i get mine from menards. A single bag would be enoigh for you.

Black diamond blasting sand is a popular black sand. It can be bought for around $10 for 50lbs at Tractor Supply co. Again youd only need 1 bag. Just be sure to wash it very well.

Live sand. Im open to suggestions though, I am new to sand. And I want the average depth, 2 inches or so.

We don't use Live Sand in Freshwater Set ups. That's a SW thing.

For planted tanks there are several sand options.
6a48abe0823892404b672c3797b12bac.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We don't use Live Sand in Freshwater Set ups. That's a SW thing.

For planted tanks there are several sand options.
6a48abe0823892404b672c3797b12bac.jpg

Theres a number of freshwater live sands. I believe carib sea markets theirs as live as well as eco complete. Honestly though, its just a gimmick though. Not necessary at all.

Theres a number of freshwater live sands. I believe carib sea markets theirs as live as well as eco complete. Honestly though, its just a gimmick though. Not necessary at all.

CaribSea sells "Instant Aquarium" line of FW sands with live bacteria.

The ones labeled Live Sand like Arag-Alive are intended for SW