Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2013, 10:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jhawk__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,121
How much subtrate do I need (in pounds)

I have a 26 gal bf and wanted to know how many pounds of substrate ill need? Since my 10 gal took 20 lbs, I figured I would need around 40 lbs.

I just want to make sure before I purchase it. I'm thinking of Doing a white sand and natural colored gravel combo?
__________________

__________________
jhawk__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by warrior13 View Post
I have a 26 gal bf and wanted to know how many pounds of substrate ill need? Since my 10 gal took 20 lbs, I figured I would need around 40 lbs.

I just want to make sure before I purchase it. I'm thinking of Doing a white sand and natural colored gravel combo?
It really comes down to preference also IMO. I have a 75 gallon and used 120 pounds of sand. I have a 27 gallon cube and used 40 pounds of planted substrate. My bio cube 29 took 30 pounds of live sand. So... I guess what I'm saying is, do you want a deep sand bed or just enough to cover the bottom?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: AquaLand
Posts: 2,000
At least one inch, I usually put 2''-3''. Any more is a lot. Not sure in pounds though.
__________________
Oscar and ClownKnife Fish Lover
Fishanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 12:17 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jhawk__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post

It really comes down to preference also IMO. I have a 75 gallon and used 120 pounds of sand. I have a 27 gallon cube and used 40 pounds of planted substrate. My bio cube 29 took 30 pounds of live sand. So... I guess what I'm saying is, do you want a deep sand bed or just enough to cover the bottom?
It needs to be deep enough to for live plants, how many inches would you recommend for them?
__________________
jhawk__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 12:52 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
armymp327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 685
at least 1 1/2 inches for gravel and 2 inches of sand for live plants IMO, 2 pounds per gallon is usually a safe bet, you will probably end up with some left over, but thats better then not enough!
__________________
armymp327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 01:08 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
I just started my first planted tank. I'd say 2" and your good.

Here's my tank. As you can see I made the right side a lot higher. And pretty much have 2" plus the rest of the way.

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 01:11 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jhawk__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by armymp327 View Post
at least 1 1/2 inches for gravel and 2 inches of sand for live plants IMO, 2 pounds per gallon is usually a safe bet, you will probably end up with some left over, but thats better then not enough!
Alright thanks! I think I'm just gonna get 2 20 pound bags, 1 of gravel and one of sand.
__________________
jhawk__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 01:12 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jhawk__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
I just started my first planted tank. I'd say 2" and your good.

Here's my tank. As you can see I made the right side a lot higher. And pretty much have 2" plus the rest of the way.
Thanks! Ill aim for that.

Looks great! What size tank is it and what plants are you wanting?
__________________
jhawk__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 01:13 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jhawk__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,121
Btw I've never had luck with slopes lol. They alway fall down eventually and turn out flat
-_-
__________________
jhawk__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 01:19 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by warrior13 View Post

Thanks! Ill aim for that.

Looks great! What size tank is it and what plants are you wanting?
27 gallon cube 20x18x20... Not sure on plants yet. I have all the ferts from GLA also have metricide 14

Quote:
Originally Posted by warrior13 View Post
Btw I've never had luck with slopes lol. They alway fall down eventually and turn out flat
-_-
Slopes are fun and easy. Just get yourself some substrate supports. I used disposable cutting mats sold at bed bath and beyond. Like 4 bucks. Check out my planted thread it shows how I used them. I cut them into pieces and made a barrier or retaining wall so the substrate wouldn't collapse.

Oh and thanks!!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 02:00 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jhawk__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post

27 gallon cube 20x18x20... Not sure on plants yet. I have all the ferts from GLA also have metricide 14

Slopes are fun and easy. Just get yourself some substrate supports. I used disposable cutting mats sold at bed bath and beyond. Like 4 bucks. Check out my planted thread it shows how I used them. I cut them into pieces and made a barrier or retaining wall so the substrate wouldn't collapse.

Oh and thanks!!
Our tanks are almost the same size lol. Yours is 1 gallon bigger lol
__________________
jhawk__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 10:41 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Just letting you know that eventually you'll end up with gravel capping sand. The heavier stuff ends up on top,
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 11:53 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jhawk__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,121
I have it separated with plastic and I've been very careful to not mix it up. So far so good
__________________

__________________
jhawk__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×