How to bring down PH?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BlaxerGun93

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I need to lower my ph down. Last time i checked was at 8 - 8.2.

What are some ways to lower it?

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I dont know what other people think of this product but at my LPS I saw a bottle for that purpose there was one for ph up and one for ph down. I have no experience with it so if anyone else does please share.

I dont know what other people think of this product but at my LPS I saw a bottle for that purpose there was one for ph up and one for ph down. I have no experience with it so if anyone else does please share.

Iv'e heard it works but then it comes right back up after a few days.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

To lower your ph can be very harmful to the fish if you don't do it correctly. I would use Seachem discus buffer with Seachem neutral regulator can also be combined with RO water to achieve desired level of ph. I have never used ph up or down before but I know you need a good buffer to stabilize it or it will just bounce back to original ph. I also noticed it can add phosphate to your water so read the labels to know for sure because high phosphates are not good to have. Good luck and as always when changing ph you should research a lot good luck with this.

Oak leaves, peat, or driftwood are some natural ways to lower pH, but will color your water slightly brown. Honestly though, a pH of 8 is not bad. Most aquarium fish will be able to adjust to it just fine. A consistent pH is more important than a neutral pH.