I found rocks outside, can they go in my tank safetly?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
G

Hi All,

I have wondered about this for a while. Tonight I found about 10 nice smooth rocks outside. I really want to make some caves out of them.

What can I do to make them safe for my tank. I have heard of boiling, but I have also heard of them exploding. Any opinions?

While we are on this subject, what if I search and find an awesome branch that looks very natural and would look nice? Can I do anything to it to make it safe. I would think wood would be harder than rocks, but I have no knowledge on this.

I've used rocks that werent sold in a pet store or rather labeled for aquarium use before with no disastrous effects. However there are some rocks that probably wouldn't do so good. The ones I found looked like old pieces of granite and others were flagstone but all I did was wash then pretty good so that no dirt or debris was left on them. Another rock I was debating on using was quarts. Got tons of it out here in the desert, but never got around to doing it. As far as the wood goes have no idea, but you should probably boil that IMO. HTH :) Maybe someone else will chime in. I do remember a thred awhile back that talked about the same subject and there was actually someone who new about geology, just cant remember the name!

Depends on the rocks. If you posted a pic of them, we might be able to give a definite answer. As for quartz, no problems at all. I have white quartz in my 55G. Doesn't affect water parameters at all. Granite is another good rock for the aquarium, as well as slate. I wish I had a better selection of quartz here, would be a lot you could do with it.