=) I need help with my husbands tank =)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tankrookie

Aquarium Advice Newbie

Hi everyone,
I am new to this. I am in desperate need of some help with my tank. My husband passed away in his sleep about 8 months ago, and shortly after I had our daughter and our son just turned 1.
My husband has a 90 gallon tall freshwater tank. As you can imagine I was vary busy with the kids and everything else going on. So let his tank go to hell. I had to give away most of his fish so that they would have a chance.
Right now the filter is not working, I tried to change the filters and it started to make all kinds of noise. So I turned that off. He also had a bubble bar connected and I have tried to reconnect it but that's not working. He tank also needs to be cleaned. I do know how to vacuum the rocks and stuff, but I don't know what to add to the new water or anything else. So really what I am looking for is someone or some kind of service to help me out with this. I need someone help getting it started again.
My husband loved his tank and all enjoyed taking care of it. I would love to keep it up and have our kids enjoy it and see that it was there daddy's and that it was a part of him.

Any suggestions, help or advice would be greatly appreciated Thank you and have a blessed day!

Well, Tankrookie first let me say I am so sorry for your loss. And I think you came to the right place to get your tank up and running again. Did your husband have any aquarium books? If not go to the library/bookstore and get a good beginner freshwater aquarium book. This will help you immensely and will be a good reference tool to go along with this site.

I personally recommend.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/A...9/sr=2-1/ref=pd_bbs_b_2_1/002-5528030-9101647

because it is a very easy to understand book.