I NEED TO KNOW ABOUT MY 10 GALLON TANK!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

felipe

Aquarium Advice Regular
hey, i got a 10 gallon tank for my fish about last october. I have 5 pretty big goldfish in it. 2 fantail midsize, and 3 shabumpkin goldfish about midsize. I also have to algae eaters and a tadpole. Is this too much for a 10 gallon tank? when should i consider getting a newer "big" tank? I am new to the whole fish keeping hobby, but i love it. it's really fun :?

That tank is marginal for one mid size goldfish. Two is really crowding it. Goldfish are "dirty" fish...they produce a lot of waste and really tax the filtration system on a tank. I'd say the least tank you'd want for all those fish would be a 55 and a 75 would be much better. Have you thought about doing a pond? If you really like this kind of fish, that might be an option. Also, although you can usually get away with the algae eaters, it's not a good idea to mix tropical and coldwater fish. Goldfish will grow quite large in time and you may even have to go to a larger tank for all of them in the future.
Logan J

how much bigger do you think i should go, becuase wouldn't i have to get a new filter that is for a bigger tank and everything?

I'd recommend a canister. If you want a hang on back (HOB) type, I don't think you can beat an Emperor 400. The canister would require less maintenance and probably provide better filtration though.
Logan J

title edited by reefrunner69