I think I messed up - cloudy water... Please help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Aquaman1974

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

I am new to the hobby and this forum is great… extremely helpful. I am stumped on my current situation. I am running a 29 gallon tank. Here are the details:

3 Mollys, 1 Catfish, 1 Rainbow fish, 1 Guppy, 1 pleco
3 natural plants
Aquaclear 50 filter

The tank has been established for about 2 months and was running clear until I added a few more fish about a month ago. It began to get a little cloudy and my ammonia was .25. At that time I was running a Tetra Whisper filter. My thought was that it could not handle the increased waste. I vacuumed and did a 20% water change. Here’s where I believe I made a mistake. I then switched to a larger Aquaclear and assed the ammonia filter media. Since that time the ammonia levels have lingered and the cloudiness remained. The fish have seemed happy and I have been doing water changes but it has not mattered. Two days ago I woke up and the cloudiness is in full bloom and ammonia levels are still steadily high. I have actually added my Tetra Whisper back (so I have 2 filters going). I have also continued water changes but all I get is clouds. I am extremely frustrated and stumped.

Please help! Thanks everyone.

Aquaman1974 said:
Hi everyone,

I am new to the hobby and this forum is great… extremely helpful. I am stumped on my current situation. I am running a 29 gallon tank. Here are the details:

3 Mollys, 1 Catfish, 1 Rainbow fish, 1 Guppy, 1 pleco
3 natural plants
Aquaclear 50 filter