I'm a complete beginner getting a 10 gallon tank, thinking about glofish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nightwing973

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I have NO fish-keeping experience, I'm planning on getting a 10 gallon tank. I'm also interested in keeping glofish. Do you guys have any suggestions? What toys/stuff to put in the tank, water temperature, food, will plain old tap water do (after you condition it)?

Should 10 gallons be enough for 4 or 5 glofish? Should I put any other fish/snails in there?

All suggestions are welcome.

Hi, I have NO fish-keeping experience, I'm planning on getting a 10 gallon tank. I'm also interested in keeping glofish. Do you guys have any suggestions? What toys/stuff to put in the tank, water temperature, food, will plain old tap water do (after you condition it)?

Should 10 gallons be enough for 4 or 5 glofish? Should I put any other fish/snails in there?

All suggestions are welcome.

1. The bigger the tank, the easier it is to keep the water quality up.

2. I'm not sure on glofish, if you mean the glow-light tetras or the genetically engineered (what, danios?). Either way, a good temperature would be between 75-80 degrees Fahrenheit. Keep in mind that some folk have moral objections to keeping altered fish, especially inked fish. Not sure about genetically altered fish. Personally, I wouldn't have a problem with it, but I sure like the natural-ness of my tanks.

3. I use color enhancing flakes for my fish (all kinds, from platys and guppies to kribensis cichlids). Some people prefer frozen foodstuff (brineshrimp, bloodworms), and still others prefer life food (tubifex worms, brine shrimp). It all depends on how much you want to spend.