introducing salt to freshwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

freshwaterashley

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi .. i have a freshwater aquarium consistingof guppies mollies platies and ghost shrimp.. mostly becauseof the ghost shrimp and the fact that some salt is good for my fish i went and bought some .. i nerd to know how to introduce it to them as in how much should i put in tostartand when is it time to add more?

Also will it harm any of my fish? Ad in are any of them non brackish familiar? Idk im new to the whole salt thing ... i just want to put in a healthy amount. Not sure what that is though lol

The idea that aquarium salt is good for your fish is a myth.

"Adds electrolytes to the water"
This is true, however unless your tap water is INCREDIBLY soft it already has enough of these electrolytes in them.

"Increases slime coat"
Slime coat can be stimulated in two ways - through a hormone or through an irritant. Sodium Chloride has no known hormonal value, so this means it stimulates the slime coat to grow by actually stressing the fish.

"Reduces stress"
The thought behind this claim is that salt will increase osmolarity, thus the reduction of osmotic pressure will then reduce stress. However, not all pressures result in stress - just like decreased barometric pressure does not relieve human stress, decreased osmotic pressure does not relieve fish stress. Furthermore, there is no evidence to suggest that NaCl reduces osmotic pressure in the first place.

The bottom line is, that it's best not to add it.

They told me at the pet store that the ghost shrimp need a certain amount of salt and i have well water

IF you stay with your above stated livebearers, you WANT to have some salt in their tank.