Is conditioning salt in the water okay or even necessary?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishNewbee

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm pretty new to this hobby and was told from a lfs employee to always add conditioning salt to any water I put in my tank. I am still doing this with every water change, once a week, along with dechlorinator. Since I've had no cycling issues and no fish loss, I'm afraid to change what I'm doing. I have barbs, 1 raphael cat, 4 african cichlids, a rainbow shark and 2 mystery snails. I am wondering if this is really necessary, and possibly, if it may be damaging to the snails, cichlids or the catfish. As I've set up my tank, I have purchased all of my fish from this same store and they've never said anything about water specifics for different types of fish such as the cichlids. They all seem to be thriving but I'm curious about the necessity of the salt. I don't have any nitrites or ammonia in the tank, and nitrates are always around 5ppm. It is soft water, also. Is this because of the addition of the salt? Also, I've been reading more about argonite substrates, etc. Is this absolutely necessary? I have regular aquarium gravel in the tank now. Thanks for any replies.

I think I've been doing it more out of habit, and as they say, if it's not broke, don't fix it. So, I've been careful to do exactly the same thing every time I change my water. But in the beginning, it was just the barbs. Now, with a more diverse tank, I'm not sure if I should stop or not.

Nope, just looks like plain white salt crystals. It's called conditioning salt on the package, and the directions say to add with every water change, not much, like 1 tiny scoop for every 5 gallons. It claims to reduce stress and build up a "slime coat."

In that case, I don't know it. There are two ways to look at this.